March top reads

Standard

This month’s reading was completely out of control. I love, love, love books, and can’t imagine a life without them – but sometimes they’re like a drug, and reading becomes a compulsion – and a way to avoid “real life” – rather than an enriching way to spend leisure time. So for April I’m taking a sabbatical – but in the meantime, everything I have read this year is briefly reviewed on my Books, etc. page. (Go here for 2014’s reviews, dating back to last September.)

There were some real goodies among my March books, which I’d love to share:

  • One Day, by David Nicholls – romantic literary fiction, an interesting approach to the story that works due to the quality and consistency of his writing
  • The Last Anniversary, by Liane Moriarty – such a fun read, full of unexpected twists and delightful characters
  • Bad Feminist, by Roxane Gay – stimulating, readable essays that made me think

And the best of the month’s movies were…

  • Maleficent – new take on an old fairy story, with an unexpectedly powerful performance by Angelina Jolie
  • Transcendence post-apocalypse sci-fi with Johnny Depp – nuff sed
  • Rabbit-Proof Fence – based on a heartbreaking true story, beautifully done 

Happy reading! 

About Belladonna Took

Into my second half-century and still trying to figure out what to be when I grow up. Born South African, naturalized American, at constant risk of losing my balance and landing ass-first in the Atlantic. A wife, a mom, a daughter and sister, kind of a grandma. Until recently a full-time dog rescuer, now more concerned with rescuing myself. User of dog hair as accessory, decor and garnish. Technical writer, strategic thinker, occasional entrepreneur. Voiceless poet and storyteller. Born again Christ-follower and former missionary schoolteacher chewing on some uncomfortable questions. Ignorer of rules, challenger of assumptions, believer in miracles. Skeptical libertarian, equal opportunity despiser of politicians and assholes. Gonnabe gardener, wannabe beekeeper, Monsanto-hating tree-hugger. Morbidly obese chocaholic, with a horse I don't ride because I might break him, and if not he would probably break me.

6 responses »

    • Alysha, I owe you an apology. You took the trouble to stop by my blog and comment, and I just ignored you. I’m so sorry! I just want you to know I did look up your book and yes, I most certainly do intend to read it … Not soon, because I’m finding that taking a break from reading other people’s work is doing amazing things to my own creative juices! But it’s on the list, and will likely feature among my reviews in due course. Thanks again for stopping by; I hope you’ll do so again!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I just finished “The Light We Cannot See” and it was wonderful. I’m reading Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk now. Ever read any of his stuff? He’s weird and gross and I love it.

    Like

    • Hi there! People keep recommending “The Light We Cannot See”, and in fact I checked it out of the library. But yesterday I took it – and about 15 other books – back unread. I’m serious about NOT READING FICTION this April! It’s time to force my mind to take the scary direction of creating rather than absorbing. As for Chuck Palahniuk … I’ve read “Choke”, and I think a couple others. He’s pretty compelling!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

