May top reads

Standard

May was a busy month with little time for serious reading but, of course, I still managed to pick up some good ones. It seems I overloaded on sci-fi and fantasy this month! Everything I read and watched is, as always, reviewed here. (For last year’s reviews, go here.) 

  • Bumped, by Megan McCafferty – post-apocalyptic YA fantasy that almost has you believing it could happen. 
  • Dark Places, by Gillian Flynn – brilliantly written but very, very disturbing.
  • Bellwetherby Connie Willis – funny, satirical, romantic sci-fi, and only a little bit disturbing. 

The best of the month’s movies were…

  • Saving Grace – light-hearted and funny
  • Thin Blue Line – you’ll either love it or hate it – British humor 
  • The Mountains of the Moon – powerful and intense 

So what have you read or watched lately that’s worth sharing?

About Belladonna Took

Into my second half-century and still trying to figure out what to be when I grow up. Born South African, naturalized American, at constant risk of losing my balance and landing ass-first in the Atlantic. A wife, a mom, a daughter and sister, kind of a grandma. Until recently a full-time dog rescuer, now more concerned with rescuing myself. User of dog hair as accessory, decor and garnish. Technical writer, strategic thinker, occasional entrepreneur. Voiceless poet and storyteller. Born again Christ-follower and former missionary schoolteacher chewing on some uncomfortable questions. Ignorer of rules, challenger of assumptions, believer in miracles. Skeptical libertarian, equal opportunity despiser of politicians and assholes. Gonnabe gardener, wannabe beekeeper, Monsanto-hating tree-hugger. Morbidly obese chocaholic, with a horse I don't ride because I might break him, and if not he would probably break me.

5 responses »

  1. I’ve been reading manically lately. I read Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See and was thrilled with the writing, impressed with the research and just found it an enjoyable read. I also read Eudora Welty’s The Optimist’s Daughter, which thankfully was a short read. I don’t really enjoy stories that are more character studies, but it was worth it to get me thinking about writing dialogue.

    Like

    • I’ve just taken All The Light We Cannot See out of the library, and am looking forward to reading it – although a little apprehensive, too. I’ve read so many rave reviews and recommendations, it’s hard to believe it can be that good! I’ll look out for The Optimist’s Daughter – thank you! I quite enjoy character studies as long as there’s some sort of story there.

      Like

      • I am in awe of Doerr’s book for his economy of language and deft storytelling. The Optimist’s Daughter, not so much, but I haven’t read a lot of southern writers beyond Harper Lee and Flannery O’Connor. It might just be a matter of becoming accustomed to the rhythm, I’m not sure.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved Mountains of the Moon, and enjoyed the following books; Dodie Smith’s “I Capture the Castle”, Gerrald Durrell “My Family and Other Animals”; Yet another read of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice”; James E Talmage “Jesus the Christ; Jacqueline Kelly, “The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate”

    Like

    • Hi, Karen – thanks for stopping by! “My Family and Other Animals” is a delight, I agree, and his other books are also very funny, although he himself is (was?) not a very likable man. And “Pride and Prejudice” is one of my absolute favorites. I don’t know how many times I’ve read it, but it never fails to delight. The five-part BBC series is very true to the story, and also excellent – a great way to spend a lazy bit of all-girl time out. Maybe you and Kappie and I should plan something like that… 🙂 Thanks for the other recommendations – I’ll check them out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

