“Fun Home”, by Alison Bechdel

Graphic Memoir, published 2007, available from Amazon.

I tell people I don’t like comics or graphic novels, but really that’s not true. Tintin, Asterix and Pogo were among my best friends growing up, and as an adult I’ve stumbled over several graphic novels and loved them. But for some reason I have continued to bypass that section of the library and book stores.

Fun Home just blew that bit of bullshit clear out my intellectual attic window.

I’m not going to bother to review it. Nanna Prawn says all that needs to be said over at Tipsy Lit. Go on over, have a read, and then … don’t do what I did; do what I’m going to do. Don’t take it out of the library. Just buy a real paper, hardback copy of the book. It’s what you’re going to want to do anyway.

Author: Belladonna Took

Well into my second half-century and still trying to figure out what to be when I grow up. Born South African, naturalized American, perpetually at risk of losing my balance and landing ass-first in the Atlantic.

6 thoughts on ““Fun Home”, by Alison Bechdel”

    1. I loved it, but was disappointed by the next one I tried, by Neil Gaiman. I talked about it a bit on my new book review page, which is on my blog. Take a look! And if you have any graphic novels you’d like to recommend, I’d love to hear about them! Thanks for stopping by…:)

      Like

      1. Have you tried Persepolis? About a young Iranian girl growing up. There is Apparently also a good film version but I’ve not seen it. Also try Maus by Art Spiegelman

        I’ve read one Neil Gaiman book which seems to be extremely popular and was disappointed… Wasn’t sure whether to give him another chance, but by the sounds of it I shouldn’t opt for a graphic novel if I do 🙂

        Like

        1. I believe I’ve read all Gaiman’s novels and loved all of them, except “Stardust”. That one started well but I rather got the impression he ran out of interest or time and just sort of zipped through it. But I was well and truly drawn into “Neverwhere”, “Coyote Blue”, “American Gods” and “Anansi Boys”, and I thought “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” was charming.

          Like

Leave a comment