Getting off to a slow start

Standard

Oh my word, I wish I were fitter! And at least 100 lbs thinner! And that my feet didn’t hurt so when I stand on them for any length of time! And that this STUPID pain behind my left knee would STOP!

All that grumpiness and bitching apart, I am happy to record that today I Put Seeds Into The Ground! First, I dumped two wheelbarrow loads of composted horse poop, chicken poop and vegetable matter into one of the raised beds. (I have weeded all six of the raised beds – go me!) I hope the compost is rotted enough … I’d have preferred to have given it a couple more months of actual proper care (as opposed to just standing around looking messy), but that would have meant buying compost, which goes against the grain. I shall just hope for the best. I forked it in as well as I could, mixing it with the soil already in the bed. And then I sowed a row of beets, two rows of radishes, a row of broccoli and two rows of Walla Walla sweets. All seeds, and I’m realizing that next year I must get started very much earlier with indoor planting, but I have hopes that some of them will come up and do their vegetable thang.

The first raised bed, weed-free, full of compost, and planted. All that's required now is faith. And regular watering.

The first raised bed, weed-free, full of compost, and planted. All that’s required now is faith. And regular watering.

So far I have also weeded and leveled a little more than half the long bed along the Nasty Neighbor’s boundary. Once that’s done I will dig in plenty of compost and then transplant the asparagus from the raised bed they’re in … We actually got a small crop the other day and it was most delicious! I don’t think I have as many asparagus as I’ve allowed room for, so am thinking I may try to scrounge plants off the non-gardening types who bought a neighbor’s house. Otherwise I’ll just leave space – or rather, fill it up with nasturtiums – and we can go out into the fields and dig up asparagus plants come fall. At any rate it’ll be ready for a good crop by next year.

I already have a bunch of tomato plants, some bought by Himself and some given by our friend Fae. They’ll be ready to go into the NN Boundary bed pretty soon, in front of the asparagus. I need to go downtown for nasturtium, marigold and alyssum seed … got borage with the veggie seeds from Territorial Seed Co, near Portland.

The compost pile is coming along, no thanks to the chickens, who like to stomp on it and kick it all over the place. I need to put down some railroad ties or similar to form a barricade … I don’t mind them stirring it up, but I want it to stay in one place! I have LOADS of compost in the containers we built out of wood pallets last year. I thought it hadn’t broken down well but, having found some of it to be very usable, I am hoping there’s more good stuff there than I’d expected, despite my neglect. Anyway, I’m putting the undecayed lumps into the new pile, mixing them in with barrow-loads of horse manure interspersed with the green weeds I’m digging up.

I am a little disappointed at my failure to do the permaculture thing properly. I haven’t been able to handle the soil without tilling it – too many weeds that have been allowed to grow too large, and the soil is rutted and hillocky so it just has to be leveled, and in any case it’s pretty compacted and in need of compost. Also I am irritated beyond belief that Himself is out there scraping and compacting – and raising DUST to transform my contact lenses into sandpaper – with that bloody tractor. But better to make a start, however imperfect, than lose yet another year. I will make much more effort to mulch and lay down cardboard toward the end of the year, to be sure it’s good to go early next spring. For now, I’m just glad Himself has given up being cross about my insistence on organic gardening, and is willing to give it a try rather than stomping off and starting his own patch somewhere else. At least he agreed not to till with the tractor.

So all good, I guess! So long as some of these seeds just sprout!

About Belladonna Took

Into my second half-century and still trying to figure out what to be when I grow up. Born South African, naturalized American, at constant risk of losing my balance and landing ass-first in the Atlantic. A wife, a mom, a daughter and sister, kind of a grandma. Until recently a full-time dog rescuer, now more concerned with rescuing myself. User of dog hair as accessory, decor and garnish. Technical writer, strategic thinker, occasional entrepreneur. Voiceless poet and storyteller. Born again Christ-follower and former missionary schoolteacher chewing on some uncomfortable questions. Ignorer of rules, challenger of assumptions, believer in miracles. Skeptical libertarian, equal opportunity despiser of politicians and assholes. Gonnabe gardener, wannabe beekeeper, Monsanto-hating tree-hugger. Morbidly obese chocaholic, with a horse I don't ride because I might break him, and if not he would probably break me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Checking in | American Soustannie

Leave a Reply

